sábado, 29 de agosto de 2015

Reeves Gabrels ‎– Rockonica

Reeves Gabrels ‎– Rockonica - 2004

Reeves Gabrels, a Grammy-nominated guitarist/songwriter/producer best known for both his work with David Bowie and his aggressive guitar style that combines the visceral energy of rock, the harmonic sophistication of jazz, the emotional honesty of blues and country, and an ear for the unusual. A furious cut-and-paster in the studio and an evil genius of atonal improvisation on stage Gabrels explores sonic extremes with a great, adaptive intuition for what each song needs most. He shows that his limitless technical and compositional skills can still shine without restraint.

Guitar Player's Editor In Chief, Michael Molenda says. "Gabrels is one of those guitar players that, quite simply, redefine guitar craft a bona fide 21st-century guitar god who deserves massive amounts of Justin Timberlake-style fame."

He will go down as one of the true originals in the guitar-hero pantheon, even as his fusion of fretwork and computer processing questions and redefines that instrument's very place in the rock canon. Among those who know him at all, he is either loved or hated but never ignored; this alone guarantees his staying power. You'll be hearing a lot more from him -- whether or not you know it's him you're hearing.

Reeves has also contributed music for film work by famed director David Lynch, and other bands and artists such as The Cure, Nine Inch Nails, Brian Eno, Ozzy Osbourne, The Rolling Stones, Public Enemy and Natalie Imbruglia

01. Sign From God
02. Leper
03. Underneath
04. Anywhere (She Is)
05. The Conversation
06. Continue
07. 13th Hour
08. Tunnel
09. Uphill Both Ways
10. Long Day


quinta-feira, 27 de agosto de 2015

Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah - Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah

Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah - Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah - 1970

Aliotta-Haynes-Jeremiah was an American rock group from the early 1970s. This trio was originally composed of bassist Mitch Aliotta, drummer Ted Aliotta, and guitarist Skip Haynes. Ted left after their debut album to be replaced by pianist John Jeremiah

01. Long Time Gone / When I Was a Cowboy
02. Poppa Song
03. Leavin' Chicago, A.M.F
04. Tomorrow's Another Day
05. For Eddie
06. Brother's Keeper
07. With My Eyes Closed
08. One-Night Stand

Skip Haynes - Guitars
Mitch Aliotta - Bass
John Jeremiah - Keyboards
Ron Zeto - Drums

+@320 vinyl rip

domingo, 23 de agosto de 2015

Spike - 100% Pure Frankie Miller

Spike - 100% Pure Frankie Miller

from PlanetMosh
In a press release Spike said “Frankie doesn’t want sympathy. He just wants his music to be heard. These songs have never been heard before and they’ve been recorded with Frankie’s blessing. They are songs that would have been lost if it wasn’t for the desire of a group of his closest friends and biggest fans to do them justice. Frankie Miller was – and still is – a massive influence on so many musicians, myself included. He has a special talent as a songwriter and that talent deserves to be celebrated.”
Spike at The Ritz, Manchester: April 2013

100% Pure Frankie Miller features Ronnie Wood, Andy Fraser, Bonnie Tyler, Simon Kirke, Ian Hunter, Luke Morley, Guy Griffin, Keith Weir, Paul Guerin, Tyla, Chris Corney, Mark Stanway, Mick Roobotham, Matt Goom, Pat Mcmanus, Lorraine Crosby, Stuart Emerson, Cherry Lee Mewis, Simon Hanson and Jimi The Piper.

With not only Spike, but the other three Quireboys featuring on this album and Spike being vocalist it has a sound similar to classic Quireboys but there are other elements in there. Brooklyn Bridge has the Rod Stewart gravelly vocals which Spike is famous for, it reminded me of The Eagles. If I hadn’t known it was Spike I may have thought Rod was collaborating with them as it brought to mind their song Long Road Out of Eden. Cocaine a mellow song with gentle riffs which Tyla, who designed the album cover features on. I’m Losing You is a lovely ballad, reminiscent of The Quireboys’ classic I Don’t Love You Anymore. I felt the next song Intensive Care with it’s great riffs to be very poignant, as Frankie can’t possibly have known, when he wrote it, that he was going to suffer a brain haemorrhage putting him in a coma for five months.


01. The Brooklyn Bridge
02. Cocaine
03. I’m Losing You
04. Intensive Care
05. Fortune
06. Amsterdam Woman
07. Other Side of Town
08. Cheap Hotel
09. Cold, Cold Nights
10. Did You Ever Wanna Go Home
11. Keepin’ It All For You
12. Bottle of Whisky


quarta-feira, 19 de agosto de 2015

Jorma Kaukonen - City Winery, New York 2009-04-11

Jorma Kaukonen - City Winery, New York 2009-04-11 - 2010 

In keeping with his roots in the jam-band ethos of San Francisco's original acid-rock scene, Kaukonen has dropped a slew of digital-only live recordings via his Fur Peace Ranch imprint. On this particular date, the record release party for 2009's River of Time, the hippie-era icon teamed up with mandolin ace Barry Mitterhof and multi-instrumentalist Larry Campbell. The trio is tight but fluid, professional yet intimate. As with the typical Kaukonen performance, the material is a mix of folk-blues standards and original material culled from his days with Hot Tuna and Jefferson Airplane.  

01. What Are They Doing In Heaven Today?
02. Been So Long
03. There's A Bright Side Somewhere
04. Trouble In Mind
05. Red River Blues
06. Living In The Moment
07. River Of Time
08. Preachin' On The Old Camp Ground
09. I See The Light
10. Nashville Blues
11. Search My Heart
12. Operator
13. Come Back Baby
14. More Than My Old Guitar
15. Another Man Done A Full Go Round
16. Early Show Encore: 99 Year Blue
17. What Are They Doing In Heaven Today?
18. Death Don't Have No Mercy
19. There's A Bright Side Somewhere
20. Serpent Of Dreams
21. Preachin' On The Old Camp Ground
22. River Of Time
23. Hesitation Blues
24. Izze's Lullaby
25. More Than My Old Guitar
26. Trouble In Mind
27. A Walk With Friends
28. Been So Long
29. That'll Never Happen No More
30. Operator
31. Cracks In The Finish
32. Good Shepherd
33. Let Us Get Together Right Down Here
34. Nashville Blues
35. Late Show Encore: Another Man Done A Full Go Round

+@320 (3 cds)

domingo, 16 de agosto de 2015

Doug Derek & The Hoax ‎- Who The Hell Is Doug Derek

Doug Derek & The Hoax ‎- Who The Hell Is Doug Derek - 2008

from Powerpopaholic
If you ever dreamed of finding that “unknown” pop nugget in the back of the record store’s cut out bin, then Doug Derek & The Hoax will make you smile. Much like when Not Lame unearthed “The Toms” a few years ago, Doug Derek was a little known garage band from New Haven, CT during the same period (1980-81). The album is a snapshot in time of the skinny tie era of power pop similar to Paul Collins’ Beat, The Plimsouls and even Peter Case a little bit. The big “hit” here is the opening two tracks “Bobby’s Gotta Get Back To Boston” and ” I Don’t Really Like It Here” which would fit just perfectly on those DIY power pop compilations that Rhino Records made long ago. The remaining tracks are good too, another standout is “Airwaves” which almost sounds like a Rubinoos song with it’s excellent guitar breaks and earnest chorus, about a band’s rise to fame. This album would most definitely have been a hit at the time, but it fell through the cracks.

01. Bobby's Gotta Get Back To Boston
02. I Don't Really Like It Here
03. Airwaves
04. Never Seen A Girl Like You
05. I Can Remember
06. Show Your Love
07. I Wanna Be Rich
08. I Need Your Love (Let Me Take You Into The Night)
09. Flight 162
10. Message In Your Eyes
11. Bobby's Gotta Get Back To Boston (1980 Version)
12. I Didn't Really Like It Here (1980 Version)